gregorygarver.com Forum Index gregorygarver.com
San Francisco Real Estate Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gregorygarver.com Forum Index -> Financial Services
Author Message
Prasad



Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:10 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

---------- Forwarded message ----------From: don peters Date: Nov 13, 2007 3:42 PMSubject: Business ForuneTo: mr_donpeters4@yahoo.co.uk FROM: MR.DON PETERSFINANCE INSTITUTION AND DATABASE OFFICE,678 POTGIETER STREET, LONDONP.O.BOX 124167, UNITED KINDOM.TELE,+44- 7031949067.ATTN:C.E.O/DIRECTORI AM MR .DON PETERS, SENIOR SYSTEM AND DATABASE DIRECTOR WITH NORTECH FINANCE, WITH CLIENTS ALL OVER THE WORLD. NORTECH IS AN INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTE WITH MOST SECURE OPERATION IN KEEPING FINANCIAL DEPOSITS FROM ANY SORT OF FRAUD, THEFT OR MONEY LAUNDERING INVESTIGATION INCLUDING HEADS OF VARIOUS GOVERNMENTS ETC. ONE OF OUR CLIENTS DR. OXFORD RAMSEY WHO WAS BEFORE HIS DEATH AN ADVISER TO THE ORG. OF PETROLEUM EXPORTING COUNTRIES (OPEC) HAD OVER 45 MILLION POUNDS LODGED WITH US. ON HIS DEATH , HIS WIFE PUT A CLAIM FOR HIS MONEY AND MY COMPANY PAID OFF IN LINE WITH HER REQUEST. HOWEVER HIS WIFE DID NOT KNOW THE FACT THAT
Back to top
sugar4660



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 3:12 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

It's bogus & they will offer him money, & he can get into trouble. Don't reply, or report it to a higher authority.I got one with the same name as my married name, & I was the only relative they could find. I am not even related!
Back to top
acermill8295



Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:14 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

You need to contact the Yahoo customer service people. This is a place to ask questions and get answers. We don't know anything about the above e-mail, it's probably scam, but you'd have to contact yahoo themselves.
Back to top
LiseK



Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:15 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

This is already a dodgy email as it comes from a yahoo account. all large businesses have their own email address that have the name of the company in. this is some one trying to get money out of you. just delete it and block the sender and forget about it. it is a scam.
Back to top
Dragonheart



Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:17 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

Scam. Avoid. Just delete it and forget about it. Official "senior directors" won't use a Yahoo address, write in capitals etc. Also that phone number will redirect you to another country, usually Nigeria where these scams are based.Oh and you want to know where that address really is? It's an aluminium profile plant called Wispeco in South Africa. http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:OeWWZoBNLTgJ:www.specifile.co.za/Specifilenew/Compendium%255CB290-01.HTM+678+POTGIETER+STREET+london&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=uk
Back to top
glenn



Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:18 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

Anyone can create an email account using "name"@yahoo.com (or @yahoo.co.uk), just as you can create a hotmail account.Scammers are creating these email addresses to hide behind, as they send out their phishing mail.If your son has opened the email, then the scammer will know the email address is genuine and will probably send more.Why not check www.yahoo.com for a contact address to report misuse of an email account? (I found it for you, it's: http://help.yahoo.com/help/uk/abuse/)
Back to top
Jill



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:20 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

It is a scam.There is no Potgieter st in London.Ive just looked in my London A-Z.The phone number is a mobile number.No company uses a mobile number .It si a crooked scam.Delete it and do not answer it.They are going to rip you off and take your money.
Back to top
RealEstateGuy



Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

This is a scam. Tell your son to delete it and get on with his life.
Back to top
charlesdclimer



Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

this is routine spam - it is called the Ngerian scam or 419 scam. google those terms for all the info you need.And you can rest assured it didn't come from a yahoo account holder - that part of the message is trivial to forge.It is the other headers in the message that will reveal its true origins.
Back to top
DOUBLENET3077



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:25 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

Clearly a scam because:1) Yahoo e-mail address2) Not professionally worded and 'shouting'3) No such UK address4) Only mobile number5) 'Mr Peters' has divulged private and confidential client information Delete and block.
Back to top
gypsyg



Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:27 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

well, to save you time and money, delete it, its a scam
Back to top
surfbum68m



Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:28 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

scam, report it to yahoo
Back to top
frankieb9655



Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

That's definitely a scam!If you feel you've got to pursue this, I suggest you do 3 things:1: Forward the message to Yahoo! and let them deal with it as an abuse complaint.2: Contact police about a possible fraud attempt.3: After you've done this, just go on with your life. The persons behind this are just some low lifers who will probably either end their life behind bars, or with a bullet in their head. In other words: Career Criminals.
Back to top
Homesella1354



Joined: 05 Feb 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: My son got this e-mail from someone using your e-mail servic Reply with quote

It's an e-mail scam. Ignore it, there are hundreds of these e-mails circulating. If you get an e-mail from someone you don't know assume it is a scam until you can prove it is genuine, that way you won't get ripped off.Good clues are;Poor English in E-mails, unsolicited e-mails, E-mails about you winning a lottery or any other e-mail saying you have won money from someone you have never heard off, E-mails from banks (they send letters and never communicate by e-mail direct), anyone asking you for money, anyone offering to pay you money, anyone asking you to keep the e-mail they send you in confidence, mobile phone numbers as the contact number. The list goes on and on.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    gregorygarver.com Forum Index -> Financial Services All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group